8th Library Day: September 1, 2015:

The library day is being celebrated Nationwide since 2008 to mark the historical day when the decree was promulgated on Bhadra 15, 1869 B.S. The main objective of the celebration is to foster reading habit, advocate the role and importance of libraries and information centers throughout the country and to help create a knowledge based society.  A main organizing committee was formed under the chairmanship of Mr. Bishwa Prakash Pandit, Ministry of Education to celebrate 8th Library Day event. The event was in fact celebrated throughout the week of August 26 to September 1.  Chief guest Honorable Minister of Education, Mrs  Chitra Lekha Yadav inaugurated the program on September 1, 2015 with the theme of "Love books and develop libraries".  As a member of main organizing committee, NLA Executive team showed solidarity to successfully conduct the 8th Library Day by coordinating and supporting in various activities.  Some of the activities carried out by NLA included:

Half day in-action program on “Information sharing of libraries situation affected by earthquake” in association with Nursing Campus Maharajgunj, Institute of Medicine

  • Contributed articles for 8th Library day souvenir published by Ministry of Education.
  • NLA supported to raise funds to publish 8th Library day souvenir.
  • The members actively participated in different activities like: presentation on Health & music therapy for the elderly, trees plantation, blood donation, press meet etc

9th Library Day :

The 9th Library Day National ceremony was held on 31st August, 2016 at Russian Culture Centre of Science and Culture with the slogan Library for Life Long Education.  Honorable Minister of Education, Mr Dhani Ram Paudel inaugurated the program as chief guest.                                                   

NLA Executive members were appointed in different Committees and sub committees including the main organizing committee.


10th Library Day 31 August 2017 (Bhadra 15, 2074).

Under the Chairmanship of Mr Shanta Bahadur Shrestha, Education Secretary, MoE, a Main Organising Committee was formed for 10th Library Day 2074. Mr. Yadab Chandra Niraula, Under Secretary and Coordinator of Library Coordination Section, MoE was a Member Secretary of the 10th Library Day 2074 program.  NLA was also one of members of Main Organising Committee of that program. The NLA Executive members took different responsibilities of 10th Library Day 2074 to support and make the program successful: 

Mrs. Gita Giri Thapa  -  Coordinator of Publication Sub-committee

Mrs. Champa Kumari Gurung – Member of Publication Sub-committee

Mrs. Chandra Kiran Shrestha – Coordinator of Social and Creative Activities Sub-


Mr. Govinda Dahal – Member of Publicity & Communication Sub-committee

Mrs. Reshma Dangol – Member of Management Sub-committee

All members were involved and helped organize at different levels to make 10th Library Day a grand success.