Nepal Library Association (NLA) is a non profit nongovernmental organization. It was established in 1980 A.D. with a mission to develop, promote and improve library and information services in Nepal. NLA is comprised of qualified and well trained library professionals. It has been persistently involved in the development of efficient library systems in the country ensuring ease of access, affordability, acceptability, quality, equity and equality of library services.

View Details


When we talk about an objective or a goal we mean a state which we would like to achieve in the future. Objectives define strategies or implementation steps to attain the identified goals. Unlike goals, objectives are specific, measurable, and have a defined completion date. They are more specific and outline the “who, what, when, where, and how” of reaching the goals.

View Details


mobile library


The dissemination and marketing of information through publications is one of the major objectives of the association. In this regard, NLA has been publishing several reports/ newsletters, etc.

View Details
mobile library

Historical Activities

A glimpse of historical activities:

View Details
mobile library

Human Resource Development

NLA has been regularly organizing 35 days Basic Library and Information Science Training Level 3 for personnel of different libraries and individuals since 1991 A.D.

View Details


The translated of BSLA (Bulding Strong Library Association) Training Package in Nepali is going to be completed in Nepali language. NLA will continue this training in community Libraries.

View Details

Present NLA Executive Committee

SN NAME Designation Email ID
1 Mr. Indra Prasad Adhikari President
2 Mr. Sudeep Dhakal Vice President
3 Ms. Reshma Dangol General Secretary
4 Mr. Saroj Gaire Joint Secretary
5 Ms. Rita Sharma Treasurer
6 Mr. Ritesh Newa Member
7 Mr. Gobinda Chaulagain Member
8 Mr. Basanta Paudel Member
9 Ms. Kendra Phombo Member
10 Ms. Sushma Basnet Member
11 Ms. Anju Shrestha Member
12 Mr. Shailendra Kumar Gupta Member